“The Jaynes Covered Bridge is a historic covered bridge, carrying Codding Hollow Road across the North Branch Lamoille River in Waterville, Vermont. Built in 1877, it is one of three 19th-century covered bridges in the town, and one of five to span the North Branch Lamoille in a five-mile span. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.
The Jaynes Covered Bridge stands in northern Waterville, a short way east of Vermont Route 109 on Codding Hill Road. It spans the North Branch Lamoille River, which flows south through the village of Waterville to the main branch of the river further south. The bridge is a single-span queen post truss structure, 56.5 feet (17.2 m) long and 15 feet (4.6 m) wide, with a roadway width of 12 feet (3.7 m) (one lane). It is covered by a gabled metal roof, and its exterior is finished in vertical board siding which stops short of the eaves. The bridge deck has been replaced by steel I-beams covered with wooden planking, so the trusses now only carry the superstructure. The joints between the truss posts and diagonals have also been reinforced with steel plating.
The bridge was built about 1877; its builder is unknown. It is one three period bridges in the town (all spanning the same river). Along with another two in neighboring Belvidere, this assemblage of bridges makes for one of the state’s highest concentrations of bridges on a single waterway.”-https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jaynes_Covered_Bridge
Queen Post Truss:
“A queen post is a tension member in a truss that can span longer openings than a king post truss. A king post uses one central supporting post, whereas the queen post truss uses two. Even though it is a tension member, rather than a compression member, they are commonly still called a post. A queen post is often confused with a queen strut, one of two compression members in roof framing which do not form a truss in the engineering sense.
A queen-post bridge has two uprights, placed about one-third of the way from each end of the truss. They are connected across the top by a beam and use a diagonal brace between the outer edges. The central square between the two verticals is either unbraced (on shorter spans), or has one or two diagonal braces for rigidity. A single diagonal reaches between opposite corners; two diagonal braces may either reach from the bottom of each upright post to the center of the upper beam, or form a corner-to-corner “X” inside the square.”-https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen_post
From Vermont Covered Bridge Society:
“The Jaynes Bridge, sometimes known as the “Kissin’ Bridge”, provides the only access to the farms of Codding Hollow. The road it serves ends at the famous Long Trail.
The Covered Spans of Yesteryear website provides the following historical information: “The Jaynes Covered Bridge was named after a family who lived near the bridge when it was constructed. In 1960 the bridge was reconstructed with an independent roadway reinforced with four steel beams after a local contractor’s gravel filled dump truck fell through the floor. Circa 2001 a new steel roof was installed. The bridge provides the only access to the farms and dwellings in Codding Hollow. The sign on the bridge’s portal declaring it the “Kissing Bridge” was placed there, in the 1950’s, as a prank, by an out-of-towner. The prank has since become a local tradition.””-https://www.vermontbridges.org/lamoille_county_jaynes.shtml