Cambridge Junction Bridge State Historic Marker


“This bridge was built in 1887 by George W. Holmes in order to access an important railroad junction and the surrounding village of Cambridge Junction.

The Burr Arch structure has a clear span of 135 feet, making it one of the longest spans of its type in the United States.

The bridge is also known as the “Poland Bridge” after the retired judge who led a lawsuit against the Town of Cambridge that resulted in the bridge’s construction.

The bridge was rehabilitated in 2003-04 with funds from the National Historic Covered Bridge Preservation Act, which was authored by Vermont Senator James Jeffords.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: