State Historic Marker Inscription:
“This pioneer log cabin was one of the first buildings constructed in this area. Built from cedar logs by Jedediah Hyde, Jr., an engineer and veteran of the Revolutionary War, it was the home of the Hyde family for over 150 years. The cabin has one large room, heated by a stone fireplace, and a loft above. Many believe this is the oldest log cabin in the United States. The cabin was moved two miles to this location in 1946 by the Vermont Historical Society and restored in 1956 and in 1985. The Grand Isle Historical Society owns the collection in this building.”-https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=75485
From the storyboard:
“Jedediah Hyde, Jr. (1761-1824) surveyed the Grand Isle area with his father after the American Revolution. In 1783 he built his cabin near here. Settling in Grand Isle permanently about 1787, he and his wife Betsey raised their ten children in this cabin. It was subsequently owned and occupied by members of the Hyde-Jackson-Watkins family until 1941…
Post Office at Hyde Cabin:
Daniel Jackson, son-in-law of Jedediah Hyde, Jr., lived in this cabin from 1829 until his death in 1848. In 1836 he was appointed postmaster and distributed mail from the cabin until 1841.
Daniel Jackson, son-in-law of Jedediah Hyde, Jr., lives in this cabin from 1829 until his death in 1848. In 1836 he was appointed postmaster and distributed mail from the cabin until 1841.
Julia Jackson Watkins, daughter of Daniel Jackson, lived in the cabin for many years, attended District No. 4 School and taught there…
In 1946 or was moved to the present location and restored. The cedar logs are original with replacement chinking.”
“The Hyde Log Cabin is a historic log cabin on U.S. Route 2 in Grand Isle, Vermont, United States. It was built in 1783, and occupied by the Hyde family for 150 years. Believed to be one of the oldest log cabins in the US, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.
The Hyde Log Cabin stands on the east side of US Route 2 north of Grand Isle center and just north of the Grand Isle Elementary School, sharing a lot with a small wood-frame 1814 schoolhouse. The cabin is a modest single-story structure, fashioned out of peeled cedar logs measuring between 14 and 18 inches in diameter. The building footprint is 20 by 25 feet (6.1 m × 7.6 m), and it is covered with a gabled roof. The interior consists of a single chamber with a loft space above. Its massive stone chimney is a 20th-century reconstruction of the original, the building having been moved about 2 miles (3.2 km) from its original location.
The cabin was built in 1783 by Jedediah Hyde, Jr., who surveyed the Grand Isle Area for Ira and Ethan Allen, who had acquired large tracts of land in the region. Hyde raised ten children in this cabin, and it was subsequently owned and occupied by members of the Hyde family for 150 years. In 1946 it was moved to its present location, and has undergone several rounds of restoration. It is owned by the state and operated as a historic house museum by the Grand Isle Historical Society, open on weekends between May and October.”-https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyde_Log_Cabin