Bittersweet: Home to the Environmental Program on the UVM Campus in Burlington, Vermont

https://youtu.be/-Y4XpdOrdlg

“Bittersweet was built as a store in the spring of 1809 for Burlington merchant, Ichabod Tuttle (whose father, Thaddeus Tuttle, lived in nearby Grasse Mount).

Prominently located on the corner of Main Street and South Prospect Street, this two-and-a-half story brick building has been altered slightly with various additions and changes to its fenestration marked by small irregularities in the brickwork.

A large Queen Anne style wooden addition with a porch was added on the south side during the late 1800s, along with the slate roof and a bay window on the east facade. Another porch addition extends along the west facade. The small Colonial Revival style entry portico seen above was probably dates to the 1920s.

Known as “Bittersweet” since the 1920s when its owner, writer Margaret L. H. Smith, established the Bittersweet Tea Room on the first floor, the building now serves as the home of the UVM Environmental Program.

The building was restored to its late 1890s Queen Anne style color scheme of red with black trim in 1999.”-https://www.uvm.edu/campus/bittersweet/bittersweethistory.html

Page credits: Prof. Thomas Visser, UVM Historic Preservation Program, 1999.

Photo of Bittersweet snapped on November 24, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Traveling for History

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading